ZURBARÁN (1598-1664)

Ce peintre, né à Fuentes de Cantos (Badajoz) est l’un des plus importants du XVIIe siècle. Très jeune, il apprend le métier dans l'atelier d'un peintre d'images religieuses. En 1616, il peint la Vierge Enfant. L’année suivante, il achève sa période de formation et s'installe à Llerena, où les Dominicains du couvent de San Pablo, à Séville, le chargent de peindre une série de tableaux. De cette époque, on distingue le Christ Crucifié. À la demande du couvent de La Merced Calzada de Séville, il peint une série de tableaux sur la vie de Saint Pierre Nolasque. Cette collection incorpore Vision de Saint Pierre Nolasque et les extraordinaires portraits des moines.

Sa période de plénitude débute avec le cycle qu’il peint pour l’église du Collège de Saint Bonaventure à Séville. Les traits les plus marquants de cette période sont le ténébrisme et les compositions monumentales. Exposition du corps de Saint Bonaventure au Concile de Lyon. Pour le collège Saint Thomas de Séville, il peint le Triomphe de Saint Thomas d’Aquin, l’une de ses meilleures œuvres pour cette époque. En 1633, il commence à peindre les différents Apôtres. En 1634, appelé par Velázquez, il voyage pour la première fois à Madrid, pour décorer le salon de los Reinos.

Entre 1636 et 1639, il réalisa le cycle sur les moines de la Chartreuse de Jerez, l’Adoration des Bergers, l’Adoration des mages, la Circoncision.

En 1640, il peint une série d’œuvres à la Chartreuse de las Cuevas de Séville, un travail déjà considéré comme d’une grande maturité : le peintre a abandonné le ténébrisme et, grâce à des couleurs plus claires et une grande agilité, il obtient des scènes d'une grande beauté : Saint Hugues au Réfectoire des Chartreux, la Vierge de la Miséricorde.

Les peintures qu’il exécuta pour le monastère Hiéronymite de Guadalupe, en Estrémadure, sont certainement les plus importantes de l’œuvre de Zurbarán. On y remarque « Fray Diego de Orgaz », « Fray Gonzalo de Illesca », Saint Jérôme flagellé par les anges.

Il faut également y ajouter les représentations de saintes, les portraits de femmes en habits d’époque, la série de ses Immaculées et ses rares mais extraordinaires natures mortes.

En 1658, il s’installe à Madrid. À la fin de sa vie, il réalisa une série de peintures de caractère homogène et d’un grand lyrisme : Vierge à l’Enfant, Saint François, l’Immaculée.

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

ZURBARÁN (1598-1664)

One of the most important painters of the 17th century, Zurbarán was born in Fuentes de Cantos, in the province of Badajoz, and learned his trade from a very young age in the studio of a painter of religious images. In 1616 he painted his Immaculate Conception, and the following year completed his training and moved to Llerena. He was commissioned to produce a series of works for the Dominican friary of Saint Paul in SevilleVision of Saint Peter Nolasco, a key painting of this period being his Christ Crucified. A further commission was to paint a lengthy cycle of works depicting the life of Saint Peter Nolasco for Seville's Merced Calzada convent. This collection includes his Vision of Saint Peter Nolasco and the extraordinary portraits of the monks.

His golden era began with the cycle he painted for the church of the College of Saint Bonaventure in Seville, the chief hallmarks of this period being his shadowy style and monumental compositions. Saint Bonaventure's Body Lying in State at the Synod of Lyon. For the College of Saint Thomas in Seville he painted the Apotheosis of SaiApotheosis of Saint Thomas Aquinas,nt Thomas Saint Bonaventure's Body Lying in State at the Synod of LyonAquinas, one of his finest works of this time. In 1633 he began to paint the various Apostles. In 1634 he travelled to Madrid for the first time, summoned by Velázquez to decorate the drawing room of the king and queen.

Between 1636 and 1639 he produced his cycle on the monks of the Charterhouse of Jerez, Adoration of the Shepherds, Adoration of the Magi, Circumcision.

Adoration of the Shepherds Circumcision

In 1640 he painted a series of works in the Charterhouse of Las Cuevas in Seville. We can by this stage talk of a work of great maturity: the artist has abandoned his shadowy style, using lighter colours and a supremely delicate touch to create scenes of great beauty in Saint Hugo in the Refectory of the Carthusians, Our Lady of Mercy.

Saint Hugo in the Refectory of the Carthusians

The paintings he produced for the Monastery of Saint Jerome in Guadelupe, Extremadura, without doubt form the most important of Zurbarán's series of paintings, featuring such major works as Brother Diego de Orgaz, Brother Gonzalo de Illesca, Saint Jerome Flagellated by an Angel.

Brother Diego de OrgazSaint Jerome Flagellated by an Angel.

We should also mention his depictions of female saints, portraits of ladies dressed in the fashion of the day, his series of Immaculate Conceptions, and his still lifes, which are few in number but remarkable.

In 1658 he settled in Madrid, and in his latter years produced a series of paintings of consistent style and great lyricism, Virgin and Child, Saint FrancisSaint Francis, the Immaculate Conception.Virgin and Child

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice