DER ROMANZERO

Die alten Romanzen sind anonyme Gedichte, achtsilbig und normalerweise erzählenden Charakters, mit Assonanzreim in den geraden Versen, wobei die ungerade Verse ungereimt bleiben.

Diese Romanzen wurden von den Gauklern und ab dem 14. Jahrhundert auch vom Volk gesungen. Sie vermehrten sich im 15. Jahrhundert und noch im 20. Jahrhundert hat man Romanzen an verschiedenen Orten Spaniens und Lateinamerikas und unter sephardischen Juden aufgegriffen. Viele dieser alten Romanzen haben sich über mündliche Quellen erhalten, d. h. sie wurden von Eltern an deren Kinder überliefert.

Die Herkunft der Romanze ist viel diskutiert. Laut Menéndez Pidal hat sie ihren Ursprung in der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts. Sie stammen von den Cantares de Gestas (Heldenepen) ab, und zwar durch Stückelung dieser in Episoden oder Szenen von eigenständigem Wert. Unter den Themenzyklen der traditionellen oder historischen Romanze sind besonders D. Rodrigo y la pérdida de España (Don Rodrigo und der Verlust Spaniens), Bernardo del Carpio, Fernán González usw. herauszustellen.

Die Romanze kam um die zweite Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts herum im Umkreis der Höfe in Mode, und die Gaukler nahmen neue Inhalte auf (romanhaftes, Lais usw.). Besondere Bedeutung erfuhren damals die so genannten "Grenzromanzen", die von Erlebnissen des Krieges um Granada zwischen Mauren und Christen erzählen.

Andere heutige Forscher vertreten eine individualistische These in Bezug auf die Ursprünge des Romanzero. Die Romanzen gehen demnach nicht auf die Heldenepen zurück, sondern wurden von Anfang an als ein unabhängiges Genre von irgendeinem anonymen Dichter erschaffen.

Im 16. Jahrhundert begannen die gebildeten Dichter Romanzen zu komponieren (der neue Romanzero). Die Vorliebe für diese Dichtungen ging im 18. Jahrhundert zurück, wurde aber in der Romantik wieder belebt. Die wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Schriftsteller (Unamuno, García Lorca, Alberti) haben im 20. Jahrhundert ebenfalls hochpoetische Romanzen verfasst.

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

SPANISH ROMANCES

Traditional Spanish romances are ballads with Alexandrine stanzas written by unknown authors. They usually have epic themes and their even stanzas rhyme in assonance, while the odd stanzas are in free verse.

These romances were sung by minstrels until the 14th century, when common people started to sing them. During the 15th century, new themes were incorporated, and even today, romances are sung in different parts of Spain, Latin America, and by Sephardic Jews. Many of these traditional romances have been conserved in the oral tradition, passed down from fathers to sons.

A great deal of controversy exists as to their origin. Menéndez Pidal was of the opinion that they originated in the second half of the 13th century. They were derived from the Cantares de Gestas (Mediaeval chronicles) which were divided up into a series of separate episodes or scenes. D. Rodrigo y la pérdida de España("Don Rodrigo and the Loss of Spain"), Bernardo del Carpio, Fernán González, etc are just a few examples of traditional or historical romances.

Towards the second half of the 15th century, romances were in vogue in the Spanish court, and minstrels sang new songs (novelesque romances, Breton romances, etc.). Special importance was given at that time to the so-called "cross-border" romances that told of events occurring during the war between Moors and Christians in Granada.

Other researchers of today have their own theories about the origins of romances. Some say that romances do not have their origin in Mediaeval Chronicles, but were originally created as a genre in their own right by some unknown poet.

During the 16th century, more learned poets started to compose romances (new romances). The popularity of these compositions declined somewhat during the 18th century, was revived during the Romantic period. In the 20th century, many important contemporary writers such as Unamuno, García Lorca, Alberti have also written romances with great lyrical prowess.

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice