MURILLO, BARTOLOMÉ ESTEBAN (1617-1682)

Le peintre Murillo est l’un des principaux représentants du baroque de l'école sévillane. Il côtoya les œuvres des peintres flamands et vénitiens de l’époque, ainsi que celles de Ribera et de Zurbarán. En 1645, il obtint son premier succès avec ses onze tableaux pour le couvent des franciscains de Séville. Ces tableaux présentent des influences de Ribera, Velázquez et Zurbarán. De cette époque, où l’on perçoit encore l'influence du clair-obscur, datent les oeuvres La Sainte Famille au Petit Oiseau, La Vierge du Rosaire, ou les représentations d’enfants, Deux Petits Mendiants Sévillans mangeant des Fruits et Le Jeune Mendiant. Les fonds de ces peintures, sombres et avec très peu de détails, font ressortir les personnages, vivants et aimables.

Vers 1650, le peintre entre dans sa période de plénitude, où il se repaît surtout du thème de l'Immaculée Conception. À une époque profondément marquée par la religiosité, Murillo fut très apprécié et obtint une grande reconnaissance. Ses excellentes représentations de caractère religieux, y compris celles de saints martyrs, sont exemptes du côté tragique de Ribera ou du mysticisme de Zurbarán; ce sont des portraits de gens d’alors, vêtus à la mode de l'époque et évoluant dans des ambiances paisibles: Sainte Juste et Sainte Rufine et Saint Léandre et Saint Bonaventure.

Entre 1660 et 1670, il exécuta une série de peintures pour l’église de Santa María la Blanca de Séville, avec laquelle il obtint de magnifiques effets lumineux, qui mettent en valeur le réalisme du quotidien et rappellent les peintures bibliques de Rembrandt ; de cette série qui a pour thème la fondation de Sainte Marie Majeure de Rome, nous pouvons citer La Vision du Patricien, le Patricien raconte sa Vision au Pape. Entre 1670 et 1674, il peignit une importante série de tableaux pour l’église de l’Hôpital de la Charité de Séville: Saint Jean de Dieu, Sainte Isabelle de Hongrie, le Miracle des Pains et des Poissons.

On distingue Murillo pour ses portraits, dans lesquels les personnages ne portent pas de luxueux atours mais appartiennent à l'aristocratie sévillane, ou sont des membres du clergé et sont représentés dans des attitudes empreintes de dignité élégante. Murillo est également important dans la peinture de genre : des peintures d’un naturalisme marqué où apparaissent des gamins, des mendiants, des voyous, acteurs du roman picaresque espagnol du XVIIe siècle: les Mangeurs de Melon et de Raisins, Fille vendant des Fruits, le Jeune Mendiant, entre autres.

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

MURILLO, BARTOLOMÉ ESTEBAN (1617-1682)

Murillo is one of the leading exponents of the Seville Baroque school of painting. He was familiar with the works of the Flemish and Venetian painters of the day, and also those of Ribera and Zurbarán. In 1645 he achieved his first success with his eleven paintings for the FrChildren Eating Fruitanciscan Children Eating Fruitfriary of Seville, works which betray the influence of Ribera, Velázquez and Zurbarán. This period, in which the influence of Zurbarán's chiaroscuro style can still be made out, includes such works as The Holy Family with a Little Bird, The Virgin of the Rosary, and depictions of children such as Children Eating Fruit and Child Beggar. The backgrounds of these paintings are dark, almost devoid of detail, and the figures stand out as lively and engaging.

Towards 1650 the painter entered his richest vein, above all reproducing images of the Immaculate Conception. At a time of such religious fervour, this went down very well and won Murillo great acclaim. His fine religious works, including also martyred saints, lacSaint Leander and Saint Bonaventure.k the earthiness of Saint Justa and Saint RuffinaRibera or the mysticism of Zurbarán. They are portraits of figures of his day, dressed in current fashions and located in peaceful settings: Saint Justa and Saint Ruffina, Saint Leander and Saint Bonaventure.

Between 1660 and 1670, he produced a series of paintings for the Church of Saint Mary the White in Seville, in which he achieved beautifully The Dream of Patrician Johnluminous effects, highlighting the realism of the commonplace, and recalling the biblical works of Rembrandt. Particular mention within this series, based on the founding of Patrician John Reveals his Dream to Pope LiberiusSaint Mary Major in Rome, should be made of The Dream of Patrician John, Patrician John Reveals his Dream to Pope Liberius. Between 1670 and 1674 he painted a major series of works for the Hospital of Charity of Seville: Saint John of God, Saint Elizabeth of Hungary, The Miracle of the Loaves and the Fishes.

Saint John of GodSaint Elizabeth of Hungary

Murillo was also an outstanding portraitist. His subjects are not adorned in the rich vestments of courtesans, but are members of the aristocracy or clergy of Seville, and are depicted in poses of elegant dignity. Murillo's genre painting is also of significance: these are works of tremendous naturalism, featuring rogues, beggars and urchins, the characters of Spanish 17th century picaresque novels: Boys Eating Melon, The Little Fruit Sellers, Beggar, among others.

The Little Fruit Sellers

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice