MANUEL DE FALLA (1876-1946)

Der Komponist Manuel de Falla studierte in seiner Heimatstadt Cádiz und am Konservatorium von Madrid. 1905 gewann er einen Preis der Akademie von San Fernando. Ab 1907 verlegte er seinen Wohnsitz nach Paris, wo er seine Studien mit Debussy ausweitete und Ravel, Albéniz und Strawinsky kennen lernte. 1913 hatte in Nizza seine Oper La vida breve (Das kurze Leben) und 1915 El amor brujo (Liebeszauber) Premiere. Falla lebte ab 1914 in Granada. Im Jahre 1922 organisierte er mit García Lorca ein berühmtes „Cante-jondo”-Festival und 1925 gründete er in Sevilla das Orquesta Bética de Cámara. Nach dem Bürgerkrieg ging er nach Argentinien, wo er an seinem ehrgeizigsten Werk arbeitete, der Atlántida, die er nicht fertig stellen konnte.

Sein musikalisches Werk ist das Ergebnis einer minutiösen melodischen und rhythmischen Ausarbeitung. Sein Bestreben war es, eine authentisch spanische Musik zu komponieren, die die musikalische Grundlage des Volkes beibehielte, ohne dabei aber in die Folklore zu verfallen.

Seine Musik entwickelt sich vom andalusischen Grundwesen seiner Ballette ausgehend hin zum kastilischen Sein seines Retablo de Maese Pedro (Meister Pedros Puppenspiel). Er machte Gebrauch von allen klanglichen Grundlagen der zeitgenössischen Musik (Polyrhythmus, Polytonalität, orientalische Elemente).

Webkatalog powered by Easywebguide
LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

MANUEL DE FALLA (1876-1946)

The composer Manuel de Falla studied in his home city of Cadiz, and at the Madrid Conservatory. In 1905 he won a prize awarded by the San Fernando Academy, and in 1907 settled in Paris, where he furthered his studies with Debussy, and met Ravel, Albéniz and Stravinsky. 1913 saw the première in Nice of his opera Life is Short followed in 1915 by Love the Magician. From 1914 onwards Falla lived in Granada. In 1922 he organised, together with Federico García Lorca, a renowned cante jondo, or 'deep song', flamenco festival and in 1925 founded the Betic Chamber Orchestra. After the Civil War, he moved to Argentina, where he worked on his most ambitious work, Atlantis, which he was unable to finish.

His musical output is the product of a detailed development of melody and rhythm. His aim was to compose genuinely Spanish music, without straying into folksiness, while nonetheless maintaining the musical foundations of popular tradition.

His music was to evolve from the Andalusian mood of his ballets towards the more Castilian Puppet Opera of Master Pedro. He deployed in his work every sonic technique of contemporary music (polyrhythm, polytonality, oriental elements).

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice