MANUEL DE FALLA (1876-1946)

Le compositeur Manuel de Falla étudia à Cadix, sa ville natale, et au Conservatoire de Madrid et remporta un prix de l’Académie de San Fernando en 1905. En 1907, il fixa sa résidence à Paris, où il approfondit ses études avec Debussy et fit la connaissance de Ravel, Albéniz et Stravinsky. En 1913, il présenta à Nice la première de son opéra La Vie Brève et en 1915, l’Amour Sorcier. Falla résida à Grenade à partir de 1914. En 1922, il organisa avec García Lorca un célèbre festival de cante jondo (chant primitif andalou) et fonda à Séville, en 1925, la « Orquesta Bética de Cámara ». Après la guerre civile, il partit pour l’Argentine, où il travailla sur son œuvre la plus ambitieuse, L’Atlantide, qu’il ne put achever.

Sa production musicale est le résultat d'une minutieuse élaboration mélodique et rythmique. Son objectif était de composer une musique authentiquement espagnole, sans tomber dans le folklore, mais en conservant le substrat musical du peuple.

Sa musique évolue depuis le caractère andalou de ses ballets jusqu'au "castillanisme" de son fameux Retable. Il exploita toutes les ressources sonores de la musique contemporaine (polyrythmie, polytonalité, éléments orientaux).

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

MANUEL DE FALLA (1876-1946)

The composer Manuel de Falla studied in his home city of Cadiz, and at the Madrid Conservatory. In 1905 he won a prize awarded by the San Fernando Academy, and in 1907 settled in Paris, where he furthered his studies with Debussy, and met Ravel, Albéniz and Stravinsky. 1913 saw the première in Nice of his opera Life is Short followed in 1915 by Love the Magician. From 1914 onwards Falla lived in Granada. In 1922 he organised, together with Federico García Lorca, a renowned cante jondo, or 'deep song', flamenco festival and in 1925 founded the Betic Chamber Orchestra. After the Civil War, he moved to Argentina, where he worked on his most ambitious work, Atlantis, which he was unable to finish.

His musical output is the product of a detailed development of melody and rhythm. His aim was to compose genuinely Spanish music, without straying into folksiness, while nonetheless maintaining the musical foundations of popular tradition.

His music was to evolve from the Andalusian mood of his ballets towards the more Castilian Puppet Opera of Master Pedro. He deployed in his work every sonic technique of contemporary music (polyrhythm, polytonality, oriental elements).

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice