EL GRECO (1541-1614)

De son vrai nom Doménikos Theotokópoulos, il était connu comme peintre sous le nom de El Greco. D’origine grecque, on suppose qu’il se forma comme peintre dans les ateliers d’artistes de sa ville, Candie, spécialisés dans la peinture d’icônes. D’où le caractère byzantin qu’on peut détecter dans ses premières oeuvres connues. La Crète était à cette époque un Protectorat de la République de Venise, une circonstance qui détermina son installation dans cette ville. À Venise, il travailla dans l’atelier de Titien et il est probable qu’il connût le Tintoret et d’autres artistes de l’époque.

Vers 1570, il se rendit à Rome, où il est possible qu’il rencontrât Michel-Ange. En Italie, on le connaissait comme il Greco et ce nom passa à la postérité. Dans ses tableaux italiens, on peut déjà observer l'évolution qui le conduirait à un style très personnel, où le style primitif des peintres d'icônes se superpose aux couleurs extraordinaires et à la riche composition de scènes des peintres italiens. La Fuite en Égypte, La Guérison de l’Aveugle; des maniéristes, il adopta les formes allongées et enveloppantes, si caractéristiques à cet auteur. La Piété, l’Expulsion des Marchands du Temple, l’Annonciation.

Nous ignorons la raison qui poussa l’artiste à venir en Espagne. Il arriva avec une certaine renommée comme peintre et portraitiste et espérait peut-être recevoir des commandes de la cour de Philippe II.

En 1575, il fut chargé de peindre un retable pour l’autel majeur de l’Église de Santo Domingo el Antiguo, dont ont été conservés L’Ascension de la Vierge, la Très Sainte Trinité, l’Adoration des Bergers. Le style du Greco atteint dans ces œuvres sa plénitude. Entre 1575 et 1584, il peignit son célèbre Chevalier à la Main sur la Poitrine et L’Allégorie de la Sainte Ligue qui lui valurent d’être chargé par le roi de peindre un grand tableau pour l’Escorial: Le Martyre de Saint Maurice.

Il réside dès lors à Tolède, où il vivra jusqu’à sa mort. Il développa dans cette ville une œuvre très personnelle, d’un grand sentiment religieux et d’une extraordinaire richesse de couleurs, avec des effets lumineux sur les formes allongées, ondoyantes, presque irréelles dans leur exaltation mystique. On distingue dans cette période L’Enterrement du Comte d’Orgaz, un exemple prodigieux d’équilibre entre les effets statiques de sa partie inférieure, terrestre, et la suggestion de mouvement dans la partie supérieure, céleste. À remarquer aussi l’habileté du peintre dans l’élaboration de portraits, dans la série des chevaliers de Tolède qui contemplent le miracle. Autres oeuvres magistrales : La Sainte Famille, l’Adoration des Bergers, Saint Martin et le Mendiant.

Il convient de préciser que El Greco réalisa à plusieurs reprises diverses versions des thèmes évangéliques ou hagiographiques, parmi lesquels on distingue les séries des Saints Évangélistes et tout particulièrement, celle des Douze Apôtres.

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture

EL GRECO (1541-1614)

The PietàChrist Driving the Money Changers from the TempleHis real name was Domenikos Theotokopoulos, but as a painter he was known by the pseudonym El Greco. He was of Greek origin, and is believed to have trained in the studios of artists in his hometown of Candia, who specialised in icon painting, hence the Byzantine flavour evident in some of his earliest known works. Crete at the time was a possession of the Doge of Venice, leading him to move to the city, where he worked at the studio of Titian, and would probably have met Tintoretto and other artists of the era.


The AnnunciationThe Assumption of the VirginAround 1570 he travelled to Rome, where he may have met Michelangelo. In Italy he was known as Il Greco, the name by which history remembers him. His Italian paintings already reveal the evolution which would lead him to a highly personal style, in which the primitive style of icon painting is combined with the extraordinarily rich, colourful scenic composition of the Italian painters. Flight into Egypt, The Healing of the Blind Man; from the Mannerists he adopted the elongated, encompassing forms so characteristic of his work. The Pietà, Christ Driving the Money Changers from the Temple, The Annunciation.

No one knows what led the artist to move to Spain. When he arrived he enjoyed some fame as a painter and portraitist, and perhaps hoped to receive some attractive commissions of the court of Philip II.


The Holy TrinityThe Adoration of the ShepherdsIn 1575 he was commissioned to paint a reredos for the high altar of the Church of Saint Dominicus the Ancient, of which remain today The Assumption of the Virgin, The Holy Trinity, The Adoration of the Shepherds. In these works, El Greco's style reached its full fruition. Between 1575 and 1584 he painted his famous Knight with His Hand on His Breast and The Dream of Phillip II, which won him a royal commission for a major painting for El Escorial: The Martyrdom of Saint Maurice.


Knight with His Hand on His BreastThe Dream of Phillip IIFrom this point onwards he lived in Toledo, where he remained until his death. There he developed a very personal style, of great religious sentiment and extraordinary richness of colour, with luminous effects on his elongated, incandescent figures, almost unreal in their mystical exaltation. A key work of this period is The Burial of the Count of Orgaz. It represents an example of remarkable balance between the static effects of the lower, earthly portion, and the suggestion of movement in the upper, celestial portion. Mention should also be made of the artist's skill in portraiture, in the series of Toledan knights contemplating the miracle. Other masterpieces include The Holy Family, The Adoration of the Shepherds, Saint Martin and the Beggar.


The Martyrdom of Saint Maurice.The Burial of the Count of OrgazIt should also be pointed out that El Greco on many occasions produced various versions of these evangelical or hagiographical themes, such as in particular the series of the Evangelist Saints, and above all the Twelve Apostles.


The holy family The Adoration of the Shepherds Saint Martin and the Beggar

LiteraturePainting

Menu

Home Page

Literature
Painting
Music
Sculpture
Legal Notice